Capture the Flag: CrowdStrike Intelligence Adversary Quest 2022

The Adversary Quest is back! From July 11 through July 25, 2022, the CrowdStrike Intelligence Advanced Research Team invites you to go head-to-head with three unique adversaries during our second annual Adversary Quest. Last year hundreds of Adversary Quest participants battled for the coveted CrowdStrike swag that was awarded to the top 50 high scorers. Now it’s your chance to defeat the adversary and win!

Register now and you will be able to track CATAPULT SPIDER (a ransomware adversary with a weird passion for a specific altcoin), PROTECTIVE PENGUIN (sentient Antarctic wildlife with offensive cybersecurity capabilities) and TABLOID JACKAL (a previously unknown adversary in disagreement with SPACE JACKAL’s preferences for source code indentation).

How to Play

The Adversary Quest will feature one track for each adversary, and each track will consist of four challenges. The tracks may include topics such as binary exploitation, reverse engineering, cryptography and OSINT research. The game is open to individual players (no teams) and designed to be an enjoyable experience for security enthusiasts of all skill levels.

During the game, you will need to find and submit flags that conform to the following format: CS{this_is_an_example}. If your finding doesn’t follow this format, you will need to keep searching. For each finding, you will get points that sum up to a total score.

The game is meant to be enjoyable for everyone, so please don’t attack the game’s infrastructure (e.g., the scoreboard or any service that is not obviously part of a challenge) and don’t share write-ups or spoilers before the game ends. After the game, we would love to see your solutions and write-ups online.

The formal terms of the event are at https://adversary.quest/tos. Like last year, the best players will be awarded some cool swag!

Timeline

  • Register now at https://adversary.quest/register
  • The event begins on July 11, 2022 at 17:00 UTC / 12:00 p.m. EST / 09:00 a.m. PST
  • The event ends on July 25, 2022 at 17:00 UTC / 12:00 p.m. EST / 09:00 a.m. PST

Contact

Email any questions about the event to adversaryquest@crowdstrike.com. We look forward to your participation!

Additional Resources

Related Content

TRY CROWDSTRIKE FREE FOR 15 DAYS

GET STARTED WITH A FREE TRIAL